Simple One Layer Thank You Card

finished card

Having always appreciated one layer cards, I decided to make one myself. This card was quick to make, and I know I will be making many more one layer cards in the future.

Here’s how I made it:

First, I stamped the top and bottom borders. (Please ignore the area that was not inked well, I fixed it later.) I used stamps from the American Crafts “Thanks” collection for the four side borders.

As you can see from this next pic, I used post-it notes as masks to make sure the borders ended where I wanted.

Next, I masked off the borders and stamped my flower image.

Here’s how it looked after stamping the flower.

I colored in the flower with a Martha Stewart marker, then added glittery highlights to the center with a Spica glitter pen. I also rounded the bottom corners of the card.

Then I added a stamped sentiment, ribbon, and tag (which I distressed with Ranger’s Distress Ink “Barn Door”).

finished card

I am working on getting better lighting for my craft area, but for the time being, please excuse the less thank stellar pics.

Supplies:
Paper: The Paper Company-Natural
Stamps: American Crafts-Thanks; Hero Arts-Stencil Flower
Ink: Hero Arts Hue Dye-White; Ranger Distress Ink-Barn Door
Marker: Martha Stewart-Peony; Spica-Melon
Ribbon: Dear Lizzy + American Crafts-Leafy
Tag: American Crafts-Townhouse Chipboard
Tools: Martha Stewart Scoring Board and Bone Folder; EK Success Cutterpede; EK Success-Corner Rounder

Leave a Reply

